In conjunction with the 50th anniversary of the Faculty of Law, Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM), the faculty jointly collaborates with Asian International Arbitration Centre   (AIAC), Fakultas Hukum of Airlangga University, Indonesia and Western Sydney University, Australia to organise the International Law Conference 2018 in September this year. The conference welcomes all as it provides an international forum for all to share experiences, knowledge and innovation, encourage the flourishing of intellectual development and provide opportunities for networking and collaboration in a multi-disciplinary platform. This event also aspires to provide enriching opportunities that transcend the needs and demands of the last century to face our complex and challenging technology-impacted world. Abstracts should focus on the theme of the conference: ‘Law, Technology and the Imperative of Change in the 21st Century’. This conference focuses on interactive and adaptive research across all domains with the law as its embryo.

Conference Objectives

  • Provide a networking platform for researchers and practitioners.
  • Promote joint research activities.
  • Enable the establishment of international collaborative research.
  • Evaluate the state of academic and practice-based knowledge related to legal research.

Conference Tracks

The following list covers some of the topics to be presented at the conference. We also welcome papers on other subjects related to the conference objectives.
Track 1: Legal Education
Track 2: Law, Science and Technology
Track 3: International Law
Track 4: Dispute Resolution
Track 5: Constitutional Law/Human Rights/Ethics and Law
Track 6: Land Use and Planning Law
Track 7: Construction Law
Track 8: Women and Child Law
Track 9: Family Law
Track 10: Medical Law
Track 11: Islamic/ Shariah / Halal Law
Track 12: Environmental Policies and Governance
Track 13: Intellectual Property Law
Track 14: Commercial/ Consumer /Law and Economics
Track 15: Maritime Law
Track 16: Conflict of Laws
Track 17: International Trade
Track 18: Competition Law
The invited papers are not restricted to the above sub-themes.

Call for Papers

Instructions for Abstracts and Full Paper

Abstracts and papers must be written in English, with the title, author’s name and institutional affiliation. Abstracts should contain a description of its aim, method, essential results and a brief conclusion within 400 words. Abstracts should include a maximum of 5 keywords. Abstracts should be submitted to: (Subject: i-NLAC2018)
Abstract          : (Download template)
Full paper        : (Download template)

Registration and Submission

A. Registration and submission of Full Paper must be done electronically through the online submission system.

- Click on the "Registration" menu to create ConfBay Account and proceed for conference registration by logging in the system.
- Click on "Online Submission" menu to submit your abstract(s) / full paper.

B. Abstract and Full Paper Format - Strictly follow the template which can be downloaded at "Download template" link above. The organisers reserve the right to reject any paper that does not adhere to the format.

Conference Fee

Presenters fees            :        RM1 200 (local)/USD 300 (international)
Participants fees           :         RM   550 (local)/USD 150 (international)
Early birds                   :         RM   950 (local)/USD 250 (international)
Students                     :        RM   500 (local)/USD 150 (international)

Registration fee includes:

  • Conference programme and abstract book
  • Welcome coffee break with 2 snacks
  • Morning coffee break with 2 snacks
  • Afternoon coffee break with 2 snacks
  • Buffet Lunch
  • Papers and pencils
  • Mineral water and mints
  • Conference kit
  • Participant / Presenter certificate
  • All papers presented at the conference

Method of Payment

  1. Banker’s cheque payable to “Bendahari UiTM”; or
  2. Transfer/Bank-in Account No : 10514-000-3422 (Affin Islamic Bank)

Please send the proof of payment to: Fax: 03-5543 5950 (Attn : Dr. Azni Mohd Dian); or E-mail:

Important Dates

Abstract                      : 15 March 2018
Notice of acceptance    : 15 April 2018 
Full Paper                    : 15 May 2018
Early Bird Deadline       : 15 July 2018
Camera ready paper     : 30 July 2018
Payment Deadline         : 3 July 2018
Conference Date           : 4-5 September 2018

Publication Opportunities

Selected papers from the conference will be considered for publication in the SCOPUS journals. The selection panel of the conference committee will consider all paper abstracts received by the submission deadline to ensure that the proposed paper is relevant to the Conference.
Conference papers may be selected and published in:

Selected papers will be published in Special Issue of:
(i) indexed journal (ISI/SCOPUS) OR
(ii) i-NLAC2018 e-Proceeding (with e-ISBN no : 978-967-0792-XX-X)
(iii) UiTM Law Review (referred journal)
(iv) UiTM Journal of Legal Studies

Presentation Note

  • Where there is more than one author for a paper, at least one author must register and must pay the registration fee.
  • Registration fee is only for one participant. The conference certificate will only be to a person who has paid the conference fee.
  • If two (or more) authors submit only one paper and physically attend the conference together, a fee for each participant must be paid.
  • Each consecutive paper(s) by the same author(s) will be given reduction of 30% from the actual fee.
  • Please note that the registration fee is non-refundable. 

Parallel Session Schedule

Click to download updated Parallel Session schedule

Contact Us

Keynote Speakers

This image for Image Layouts addon
Emeritus Prof. Datuk Dr. Hj Shad Saleem Faruqi (Professor of Law, University of Malaya)
This image for Image Layouts addon
Professor Dr. Steven Freeland (Dean of the School of Law, Western Sydney University, Australia)
This image for Image Layouts addon
Professor Dr. Rahmi Jened, SH., MH (Professor in the University of Airlangga, Indonesia)
This image for Image Layouts addon
Professor Dr. An An Chandrawulan, SH, LLM (Dean of the Faculty of Law, University of Padjajaran, Indonesia)

Contribution from Universitas AirlanggaandUniversiti Teknologi MARA

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)


1. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nur Ezan Rahmat
2. Dr. Norazlina Abdul Aziz


1. Prof. Dr. Nuraisyah Chua Abdullah
2. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zaiton Hamin
3. Assoc. Prof. Rohazar Wati Zuallcobley
4. Dr. Siti Sarah Sulaiman
5. Dr. Anida Mahmood
6. Dr. Azni Md. Dian

Universitas Airlangga


1. Amira Paripurna SH,LLM,PhD


1. Koesrianti SH, LLM,PhD
2. Fifi Junita SH,MH LLM,PhD
3. Amira Paripurna SH,LLM,PhD
4. Dr. Intan Soeparna I. SH,MH
5. Dr. Rosa Ristawati SH,MH,LLM